Holmans

burley

From £1235

View on map

Your property wish list

Our wishlist uses a temporary session cookie. This stores a small amount of information on your computer that will remember the selection of properties you have added to your wishlist. When you leave our website, the cookie will be deleted from your computer after 30 days and will clear your selections on the wishlist.

X

SAVE TO WISH LIST

4 bedrooms

Up to 8 guests

WiFi

Dogs

Key Features

  • Property code: A717
  • Changeover day: Friday
  • 2 or more bathrooms
  • Access statement available
  • Central heating
  • Designated parking
  • Direct forest access
  • Dishwasher
  • Garden or outside space
  • Nearby pub or restaurant
  • Real fire
  • Nearby shop
  • Short breaks available
  • Village
  • Washing machine
  • WiFi

Description

This impressive detached character residence provides an excellent range of thoughtfully styled accommodation to suit both families and couples wishing to holiday together.  Tucked away on the village outskirts this secluded property has mainly interlinking reception rooms, two with open fireplaces, including the striking octagonal shaped conservatory, which provide spacious family living. The four attractive en-suite bedrooms provide versatile accommodation for up to eight people. The majority of the rooms have views over the garden and the glorious New Forest National Park. Forest ponies, cattle and deer are regular visitors to the end of the garden. 

The property is a 15 minute walk to Burley village centre, where several interesting shops and a variety of eateries and pubs will be found. It is also possible to hire bicycles from Forest Leisure Cycle hire in the village, play a round of golf on the attractive heathland Burley golf course or go horse riding with Burley Manor Riding Stables.

With direct forest access into the New Forest, a haven for wildlife, the plethora of footpaths and bridleways provide some of the very best walking, cycling and riding The south coast and the award winning beaches are also only a short drive away.

This is truly a stunning place for a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

Entrance into spacious hallway, incorporating seating in a comfortable relaxing area with doors to garden and views over the forest.
Doors to feature, south west facing, octagonal conservatory with dining table and seating for eight.
Lounge with open fire, Smart 40” TV with hard drive and Netflix, DVD player, comfortable seating and views over the garden and forest. Dining hall with open fire and dining table with seating for eight.
Attractively fitted kitchen with gas fired Aga, gas hob, combi electric oven/microwave, dishwasher, larder fridge, freezer, TV and table. Utility outhouse with washing machine. 
Bedroom 4 with twin beds (3ft),  En suite WC and basin.
Cloakroom with WC and hand basin.
Stairs to first floor.
Bedroom 1 with super-king bed (6ft) and TV.  En suite shower room including walk in shower, basin and WC.
Bedroom 2 with double bed (4ft 6in) and TV. En suite with shower over bath, hand basin and wc.
Bedroom 3 with twin beds (3ft), TV and views over the garden and New Forest. En suite shower over bath, hand basin and WC.

Large beautifully landscaped south west facing garden laid mainly to lawn with a variety of flower and shrub beds, borders and mature trees together with a lovely terrace to the rear of the property. Garden furniture with seating for 8 overlooking the picturesque garden and glorious open views across the New Forest where ponies can often be seen grazing.

For up to 4 cars.  Please be aware that the property shares the drive with the riding stables and horses will come and go.

Included: Bed linen and towels.  Electricity, central heating (gas) and WiFi. One basket of logs will be provided for the wood burners during your stay.
Children  All ages welcome
Pets  Up to 2 well behaved dogs welcome. Must be over the age of 1 year old (unless agreed with the owner prior to booking) and dogs must be fully housetrained and well behaved. Please note there is a standard pet charge of £25 per pet per week (£30 for 2019 bookings).
Direct Forest Access
Telephone  available for incoming calls and emergency 999 calls only.
Parking for up to 4 cars
Bicycle Storage yes, in the utility outhouse
Beach shingle beach Milford on Sea 11 miles, sandy beaches at Highcliffe 8 miles, Bournemouth 17 miles.
Shops in Burley Village Centre. Nearest large supermarket in the market town of Ringwood, 6 miles. Brockenhurst 6 miles or Lymington 9 miles.
Pubs The White Buck Inn within walking distance (1/4 mile), The Queens Head, The Burley Inn, all in Burley.
The New Forest Tour Bus blue route stops nearby
Property: self-catering holiday cottage
Short breaks available January to 1st May 2018, not including the Easter holidays. Please call the office on 01590 679655 for details.
Changeover Friday
Arrival 4pm
Departure 10am
Non smoking


November 2018

Fantastic location and comfortable characterful house. Property generally a bit tired and in need of refurbishment - if I was paying the high season price I’d have been a bit disappointed by the state of decor and repair. Definitely enjoyed our stay however.


September 2018

A delightful house in a glorious location with direct access onto the forest and adjacent heathland, this enabled great walks from the door without using the car. Walk to Mill Lawn Brook and return via Burley village or to Over Water and return via Rock Hills. The kitchen is well equipped and has an AGA oven which was challenging at first but rewarding with a little perseverance if you are not used to one. The conservatory is large and very comfortable for both eating and relaxing with uninterrupted views down the garden onto open heathland. Watching the ponies, cows and the odd deer pass by the end of the garden was very interesting. The garden is large and secure and was ideal for our dog to freely roam about. The house is ideally positioned for both exploring the New Forest and the nearby coastline. Keyhaven, Highcliffe, Mudeford, Hengistbury Head and the beaches at Southbourne are all just a short drive away. We had a great stay and will hopefully return in the future, that's recommendation in itself.


September 2018

Enjoyed it very much - a trip back to '70s décor! Thanks.


August 2018

A comfortable family home in a beautiful location. So peaceful and with a lovely outlook. Wish we could have stayed longer. Hope to return.


August 2018

A wonderful house in a perfect location for discovering the New Forest and its surrounds. We were down for a family holiday to recharge the batteries and Holmans provided a perfect haven to help achieve this.


August 2018

Location fantastic. All rooms ensuite a bonus. Lots of room to spread ourselves about. Decor needs updating and not all light switches worked. The socket in master bedroom was not secure to the wall.

Thank you for your comments. We have reported the light switches to the owner and management company who will address the issues immediately. With thanks,

- The New Forest Cottages Team


August 2018

Beautiful location and great for the dogs as the garden is totally 'dog safe'. The owners who live in the cottage at the end of the garden were delightful and so were the ladies who owned the horses in the adjacent stables. All in all a wonderful relaxing stay at a property in a fantastic location.


July 2018

Oh dear, very disappointed at the state of the property throughout, house and furnishings are lacking a lot of TLC and needs a thorough spring cleaning. Windows were dirty, carpets need replacing as they have seen better days and are quite grubby, as are the drapes though good quality are overdue for cleaning. Garden flower borders are very untidy and need weeding etc... there are also some safety features the gas hob we believe would not pass a gas test, and there is no stay on the bathroom window of the children's room ( it opens fully and and could be dangerous as a child could easily fall through). Overall the house is looking very tired. I would suggest you look at other properties before renting this one, and compare with other sights. We had booked for our family to celebrate our Ruby anniversary and all felt that for over £2,000 per week the property and interior should have been in much better order.

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Holmans. The owner is sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, especially as so many other guests have been otherwise delighted. The property had undergone much maintenance work including extensive work to the garden and a deep clean prior to your stay and the owner was therefore surprised to hear that you had encountered such issues. The gas hob is safe to use, as confirmed by the gas engineer who attended after your visit. The replacement parts for the window clasp only arrived during your stay and the owner did not want to disturb you with the repair. It has now been replaced. We are sorry that you did not contact us during your stay so we may have rectified any issues for you. We hope to see you again in the future. With thanks

- The New Forest Cottages Team

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at Holmans. The owner is sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay, especially as so many other guests have been otherwise delighted. The property had undergone much maintenance work including extensive work to the garden and a deep clean prior to your stay and the owner was therefore surprised to hear that you had encountered such issues. The gas hob is safe to use, as confirmed by the gas engineer who attended after your visit. The replacement parts for the window clasp only arrived during your stay and the owner did not want to disturb you with the repair. It has now been replaced. We are sorry that you did not contact us during your stay so we may have rectified any issues for you. We hope to see you again in the future. With thanks

- The New Forest Cottages Team


June 2018

Very enjoyable stay and the dogs loved the garden. Very secure so they could run around without fear of our losing them. Great location and food in the White Buck was excellent.


January 2018

Lovely place, great location would definitely come again


December 2017

A super house and surroundings, a perfect place to enjoy Christmas. Wonderful!


November 2017

We had a wonderful time and didn't want to come home! Also your office and Wendy from the cleaning company were so helpful when we locked ourselves out. ???? Thank you again


November 2017

We loved the house and location and had a great holiday. We will be looking to come back again next year.


October 2017

We booked Holmans for a family holiday. The location was perfect for us as we wanted to be in the heart of the New Forest. The house itself proved an excellent choice for a large family gathering. There was seven of us in total but still lots of room for all to have their own space. The garden is fantastic - large, private and very sunny with views over the heath and plenty of seating on the sun terrace. We had great holiday and would definitely stay there again.


September 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed out stay and did everything we had intended in our week


September 2017

We had a wonderful stay in a fabulous accommodation in a quiet location and within walking distance of a great public house The White Buck. Thank you


August 2017

It was a really lovely stay in a large & cosy home. We enjoyed the walks from the back of the garden and watching the wild ponies. We drove 20 mins to Highcliffe beach on a sunny day & the children loved dipping their toes in the freezing water. We went for drinks at The White Buck and ate at The Queens Head. A huge highlight was cycling, hiring bikes from Forest Leisure Cycle. All in all - a really lovely sunny stay. Thank you.


August 2017

Our second visit here. The finest place to relax and recharge the batteries. We discovered that you will go home feeling a lot better than when you arrived.


August 2017

A lovely quiet place for a family get away, for us a group of 5 adults and two lively 2 year olds, plenty of space and freedom and great with the New Forest scenery and livestock literally on your door step. Finally mastered the Aga after a few days, although quite a warm week for a permanently warm kitchen. We did a four mile walk around Burley and another more adventurous/energetic family member walked south across the A35 and got bogged down (literally)! Eating and drinking out, we can recommend the Queens Head & White Buck in Burley and the Fox & Hounds in Lyndhurst. We all enjoyed the weeks break.


August 2017

Thanks for a lovely week. This was a 'wrinkle' holiday, Betty 99 and Doreen 91, so very special. They had a brilliant week touring the area & enjoying the garden & views. Lottie loved the garden and the walks straight out of the gate. Only met ponies an the very wet day! Thanks again!!


May 2017

Dustbins should have secure lids as foxes made a mess on two occasions by knocking them over.

Thank you for informing us of this issue. The owner has now found a new solution to solve this problem at the cottage which should keep the bins secure from any wildlife if instructions are followed carefully. We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Holmans again in the future.

- The New Forest Cottages Team


April 2016

Holmans touched our hearts. We booked this for a 60th Birthday retreat and all I can say, some 9 months on is Holmans remains very special to us which is talked about with warmth and affection regularly. I only hope we are fortunate enough to revisit again one day.


March 2016

What a lovely Christmas we had in this gorgeous, cosy home. Thank you


March 2016

Great house for friends and children reunion. Excellent location for walks


March 2016

Fantastic location, especially with dog!


March 2016

A wonderful stay again in this beautiful location. Lovely cosy house, we enjoyed the open fire. Visited Beaulieu Motor Museum and found a lovely quiet sandy beach at Highcliffe. Superb food once again at the White Buck (take a torch for walking back afterwards).


September 2015

The property was in a wonderful position on to the forest, quiet, beautiful surroundings.


August 2015

Thank you so much for giving us all the opportunity of being able to stay at Holmans. It was a privilege to be in such a lovely house and in such an idyllic setting. We have all had a great and thoroughly enjoyable holiday.


July 2015

Lovely place! Thank you for letting us stay.


July 2015

Excellent Location!


Book now & only pay 1/3 today

With our advanced booking deposit scheme only pay 1/3 today (available on bookings over 6 weeks in advance).


Your booking is safe and secure

Customer Feefo Reviews